Last night I visited Dhaka, via Google Earth. Here are some Pictures I took, just wanted to share with you folks.

Savar Shahid Smriti soudho

Like everyone else I started my day paying tribute to our war heros at Savar Shahid Smriti Soudho.

Shahid Minar

Then I visited the Shahid Minar.

Bangavaban

Paid a visit to our all powerful President cum Chief Advisor Cum Foreign Minister cum home minsiter cum defence minister cum education minister cum NGO minister cum election minister….cum..@ Bangavaban.

parliament full

Then visited our national parliamnet building. I, however, didn’t see anybody walking out of that building.

Parliament east

I looked closely the detail of this Louis Kahn classic

To be politically correct I wanted to visit Bangabandhu Shomadhi first. But probably like everything else BNP governmnet has done doliokoron of Google too. I didn’t find the shomadhi at Google Earth.

Zia memorial

Instead I visited Zia Memorial along the crescent lake on the other side of that magical bridge. This wonder bridge exists for five years, then vanishes for the next five years.

Ramna

I visited Ramna with PG, BIRDEM, Shishu Park ( I wanted to meet all the senior citizen), Museum.

Sat rastar matha

I went through Sat Rastar matha.

Paltan, Stadiums, Secretariate, Bangavaban

I then visited the hub of bangladesh politics, The Paltan Maidan beside stadiums. Lower right is Bangavaban and upper left is secretariate.

Najimuddin rd

Also not too far from Paltan is that house on Nazimuddin Road. You don’t want to stay there. Ask Ershad why not.

Cantonment Golg Club

Dhaka Cantonment with the lavisgh 18 hole golf course, shenakunjo, officers club etc. All fun no work!

Satmasjid road

I tried to visit the green zone on the rt side of the Sat Masjid road and ended up in the not so green zone on the left side.

Buddhijibee smriti soudho

Buddhijibee smriti soudho at Rayer Bazar

Dhaka Sits on the Buriganga

Dhaka stands on the river Buriganga. Can anyone tell me what is that Oval thing ? Do you see the building with the stairs, Ahsan Manjil?

Huge structure near Dhaka. What is this?

A huge structure possibly near Fatullah. Can anyone tell me what is this?

Kamlapur Railway station

Kamla Pur railway station. Wasn’t it Asia’s biggest train station?

Lalbag kella

Lalbagh Kella. Oncve upon a time it used to protect Dhaka from all the invasions. Now the fort itself being engulfed by an invading Dhaka.

Dhaka Zoo

The greenery near Mirpur Section # 2. Our politicians should be residing there, but at this moment other species live here.

Ashulia

The grand canyon of Dhaka, Ashulia Savar Road.

Fantassy Kingdom

Fantassy Kingdom.

I made sure I didn’t go to meet anyone in Shudha Shadan or the Cantonment.

Overall it was fantastic day.

[ Click on the images and go to all sizes to view a larger image]

