Every time Ramadan or Eid comes, my mail box fills up with happy Ramadan or Eid Mubarak Messages. Happy Ramadan and Eid Mubarak extravaganza goes on for several days in those class or community yahoogroups I subscribe to. My Hindu, Chakma, Buddhist, Christian friends all generously spray us with greetings.

As this time Ramadan beginning and Durga Puja fall at the same time, I had a rude awakening. While all of us were showered with Happy Ramadan blessings, I hardly saw any reciprocation by shuvo Bijoya greetings. No a single group I subscribe to had a greeting coming out of a Muslim or a Christian member for the Hindu friends on the occasion of Durga Puja.

When the goal is a Bangladesh with a perfect religious harmony, our indidual mindset is the playground and here we have to start our work. When each unit, an individual Bangladeshi, gets illuminated with tolerance, we will have hardly any work left undone to ensure a complete religious freedom.

Shuvo Bijoya And Happy Ramadan My Dear Friends


