This was a recent picture from Bangladesh newpapers. Not going into the context of the news, look at the different outfit the father and the son are wearing.

lungi

While lungi remains the prime outfit of working and older middle class of Bangladesh, it has been loosing (or lost) it’s popularity among the youth. When I grew up, started living in dorm, “lungi” was the trademark dorm dress of Shibir students only. For rest of us shorts replaced lungi.

However as I came further along my life, I am now again a happy ” lungi wearing”, “rice and bhat eating” Bangali.

Nothing can beat lungi as the casual homewear. Only, you have to be very quick in running back after collecting your mail or newspaper or throwing trash. Otherwise the neighbours may find you wearing this strange skirt.

Man, I love lungi.

